Week 3- Study, Study, and More Studying!


 Hola from Provo!

Crazy to think that I’ve been here for three (almost starting the 4th) weeks!! Time does fly by.
Where to begin, each day flies by completely. Full of learning how to teach and speak Spanish.
To start off, for something fun to do, my district had a “tie contest” because the Elders have the coolest ties, ever. Also, Hermana Beckstead drew the whole district and our maestros on the white board in our class room, it was fantastic! It gets very stressful here, so it’s always nice to  some-sort of “outlet”.
Also, some pretty big news: on Sunday I was called by my Branch President to be the new Sister Training Leader for my Zone! (A zone is comprised of 4 or 5 districts (a cluster of missionaries)). We had two districts leave us this past weekend, one of which had 4 amazing sister missionaries, so now the “torch” is handed to me to be the new STL! (Basically, I get to know all the sister missionaries in my zone and great the new ones!. it’s the only sister missionary leadership position, and I’m very excited to serve!).
Everyday is pretty much the same: study in the morning, class with Hro. Humble, then class with Hrm. Brown. Nothing too exciting except for teaching! In the MTC, there’s this program called “Teaching Resource Center” or TRC where you teach either a member pretending to be an investigator or an actual investigator for about two weeks. We did a brief introduction to understand the point. Last week with two members; one served his mission in Atlanta (and served in Jonesboro, crazy!!) and the other one served in Argentina (guess what we talked about for 30 mins, haha).
 Yesterday we began our two weeks with our “investigator”. Her name is Halee and she’s from Guatemala. She works in Finances and is the sweetest and most patient person. We were only able to teach her for 15 mins, but it was awesome. TRC is one of my favorite things here at the MTC. Talking to real people and being able to teach them about Christ, the Book of Mormon, and the church.
One of the best parts about the MTC is the devotionals that we have every tuesday and sunday night. The speakers that we have are outstanding. Last Tuesday we had Elder Joseph Sitat speak to us about how to make the most of our missions. Even if you’re not on a mission or not mormon/ LDS, it’s important to be the best version that you can be. Personally, that means serving my companions and the people around me.
Also, fun fact: I saw an Elder from my Public Speaking class at the Sunday devotional!! It was so nice to see a familiar face!
I have so much to say, but not enough time to say it! I love this gospel so much and I’m grateful every day to be on a mission. The majority of the time it’s very, very, very, very hard, whether it be Spanish, learning the principles, issues, or random little things. But I know that through Christ nothing is impossible.
Yo sé que Jesucristo es mi salvador. Yo agreido por su expiación. Mediate Jesucristo, yo puedo limpiar otra vez.
José Smith es el profets. El libro de mormón es verdadera. Lo bendice mi vida mucho. Español es muy difficl, por mediate oracíon y leer la scripturas, yo sé que yo aprender.
I love you all so much and I´m so grateful for every single one of y’all!
Te amo!
-Hermana Smith
ps: read 2 nephi 25: 23-26, it talks about how without Christ in our lives, I absolutely love it. Also, I’m reading in Mosiah currently where King Benjamin gives his talk. It’s fantastic.
pss: a quick “lo siento” or sorry to all non-members who are confused by lds lingo / book of mormon references…you can always ask me and i’ll try to email you back or lds.org /mormon.org is a great place 🙂
BYU Stadium! So close but sooooo far
BYU Stadium! So close but sooooo far

DSCN0116

selfie!
selfie!
our district!
our district!

DSCN0128

In the rain!
In the rain!
DR PEPPER LOVE
DR PEPPER LOVE
Leave a Reply

