Week 5- One month down, fun with Visas and other glorious MTC adventures

Hola, from the MTC!

Finished another week in the MTC and I only have about one more to go! Crazy to think that over a month ago I came here. I’ve learned so much about the church, being a leader, and learning more about myself. I have a lot on my mind, so here’s another group of lists of things that happened this week:
1. Last Tuesday, we were blessed to have Elder M. Russell Ballard (another head leader in the church) come and visit the MTC. He did neccessarily have one particular topic that he talked about, but it was more a “discussion with your grandpa”, at least that’s how he phrased it. Once again I have 6 pages of notes but here’s some interesting points that he disscussed:
 “you don’t know very much, but you have the opportunity to learn”. I feel that we can apply that to all of our lives, LDS or not a member. Here on earth, we are here to learn and grow from each other and the trials and tasks that we have. Throughout my mission, I hope to learn and grow from teaching others to learning Spanish.
“Always serve, teach, and love one another” “These will be spiritual expereinces that you’ll never forget”. “Strive to do what He will have you do.”
Then we discssued the scripture in Doctrince and Coventants (18, I think?), “How precious is one soul?”. As missionaries, we have to remember that anyone you come in contact with, is a precious soul of God. “Don’t pass anyone without an effort to contact [as a missionary], everyone is different, every circumstance is different”.
Then Elder Ballard discussed how significant prayer and personal study time is. “Commit your love to the Lord. Willingness and appreciation for what He did for all of mankind.” “Drifting in life? fix it. why? because you’re the only once that can”.
At the end of his comments, he bore his testimony of Jesus Chrsit. It was probably one of THE most powerful testimonies I have every heard. You couldn’t hear anyone coughing or a pen drop, everyone was focused on him. It was magnificent. I know that these Elders are true apostles of the Lord, Jesus Christ. Having two speak to the MTC in a row is outstanding and exhilerating. Makes me so excited to go and share the gospel to the World.
2. On a fun note: MY VISA FOR ARGENTINA CAME IN!! The next email you recieve from me, I’ll be in Argentina!! On west campus (all spanish speaking), there are about 50ish missionaries headed for Argentina. Myself and two other elders were the only ones that got their visas. My whole district got reassigned except for myself and Elder Lourenco.
Crazy to think that next week I’ll be there. I’ve absolutely loved my experiences here at the MTC, but I’m beyond ready to be in the field and improving my spanish.
3. I ran into Jace Clark in Wyview!! I was literally just telling a story about her and I to an Elder while we were walking across the road after class, then next thing you know I see this blond hair girl coming towards me. I screamed and gave her the biggest hug!! It was such a blessing to see her and it was amazing.
4. This week is General Conference! I’m beyond excited. Can’t wait to spend this weekend listening to amazing leaders and speakers.
Nothing else is too exciting here at the MTC. Hope you all are doing well! Heard that BYU is ranked 18!! That’s incredible! I think this weekend is the Utah State game, so I’m sure I’ll hear it from across University Ave.
Love y’all so much!
-Hermana Smith

unnamed-2 unnamed-3

hermana gutierrez who joined our trio for a day because her comapions left yesterday. sweetest sister out there.
hermana gutierrez who joined our trio for a day because her comapions left yesterday. sweetest sister out there.

unnamed-5 unnamed-1

ninja missionary
ninja missionary
R to L (hermana beckstead, elder giles (in the back), elder liñes, me)
R to L (hermana beckstead, elder giles (in the back), elder liñes, me)
Leave a Reply

