Semana 14: 3 Month Mark

Hola familia y amigos!

Hope all of your thanksgiving food and black friday shopping were great! All was normal here in El Colorado and hot as hades.

Well this week we worked really hard and contacted (or talking to people) a ton! First, we met this one lady named Marlen. A very sweet, compassionate lady. We taught her about the plan of Salvation and how families can be together forever. I felt the spirit so strong when we were talking and then she started crying! She said that she needed this in her life, to know where we came from, why we´re here on earth, and where we go after we die. Whenever we find a “golden” person who 1. listens, 2. has real intent, and 3. wants to change for the better, it is the absolute best. Basically Navidad (or christmas ). After working hard all day long and walking in the hot sun, finding a golden person makes it all worth it.

Also this week, we met this one family. Teaching the restauration (or the first lesson). During the begining of th elesson there were a ton of distractions. Dogs, chicos playing soccer, a cloud of dirt from the road in our faces, anything that you could think of. But when I recited the first vision (or an account from Joseph Smith when he prayed to know which church to join and saw Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ) We could all feel the spirit so strong. All of their attention and concentration was in the lesson. In the MTC, I was taught that we´re representatives of Jesus Christ and that only through the power of the Holy Ghost can we teach the doctorine and teachings of Jesus Christ. In that particular momment, I felt the spirit speaking through me and testifying of these true things. We then invited them to pray to know if the message is true or not. We also invited them to come to church on Sunday. That next Sunday their son, Martín came to church! He´s really intelligent and loves to learn. Also the father of the family said that his brother is a bishop (a leader in the church) in Buenos Aires! Crazy and such a blessing.
One of the hardest things is to find “prepared people”. But I hope for the best for this family and that we can help them come unto Christ.

Yesterday I gave a talk in Church about compasión and I divided it into three parts: 1. amor (love), 2. servicio (service), and 3. caridad (charity).
A brief summary: love, serve, and care for the people around you. Sometimes it might be difficult because people are difficult at times. But with patience, it´s possible. Also to serve family members, friends, or co workers. Whenever I serve my companion or those around me, I feel so much better. Doing something selfless for another person I can feel peace in my life. And last thing, charity which is also the “pure love of Christ”. I absolutely love that. Whenever we serve or care for others we can have that “wholeness” and peacfulness in our lives.
I promise that as we selflessly give our time, talents, and efforts to those in need, we¨ll be blessed in all aspects in our lives.

Well that´s all for now! Hopefully these next couple of weeks with Hna. Guevara (her last couple of weeks!! 😦 ) will be fantastic!

Love you all so much!

Con amor,
Hermana Smith

Ps, here are some photos from the week!
My thanksgiving meal with Hna Cruz(Nicaragua), Hna Guevara (Nicaragua), and Hna Mujica (Peru).
Also, my 3 month mark sign that Hna Guevara made for me and I made pancakes which I was pretty excited about!

Leave a Reply

